top of page

Autism Awareness Month!


WELCOME BACK EVERYBODY! Today is a very special day/special month because this month is Autism Awareness Month. I'm writing about this because of 3 reasons... 1.) My Fiancé has autism. 2.) It's autism awareness month. and 3.) Autism now affects 1 in 68 children and 1 in 42 boys. That last one was a fact. So I definitely want to talk about Autism because it's been noticed around the world and it couldn't be any better to talk about this month. Autism is a great thing to talk about, but so hard to handle especially if you have it. My fiancé has Asperger's and he is my best friend. I'm going to talk a little bit of how we met and then I'm going to mention some songs involving autism. And yes I found some songs.  

     So almost 5 years ago my fiancé and I met through my foster sisters college. I went there one day my senior year and I saw him walk through the door of her dorm, and I instantly fell for him. I think I fell harder than most girls would fall for someone. And he ended up being my hero. I told him everything about me. Before meeting him I never felt comfortable telling anyone everything, because I tried to tell my best friend (or so I thought) the worst secret of my life and she told me to tell someone. So I thought I was safe to tell and I wasn't, so I started learning to lie and tell myself that everything was going to be okay. A lot of times I put on an act just to make everybody happy and to not keep moving around. Every time I tried to tell the truth nobody wanted to hear it (except him), so I started lying. But with him it was different, he made me feel safe and secure. He tried to stand up for me a few weeks before I walked at graduation. My foster parents kicked him out because they thought that he was trying to tell them how to run the house when really he just wanted a future with me. And I did with him as well. Here we are 5 years later.

     We had our ups and downs, but it took me 5 years, a few REALLY good friends, and a couple of hard times to realize that not only are we the ones for each other, but we are truly in love. We fight at least once a week, we are both equally lazy, we both get on each others nerves, and we even lived in a car for 6 weeks together. Tell me how many woman who love their partner would continue to stay with them through living in a dodge neon for 6 weeks in the midst of February-April? Not many that I know of cause some woman are all about the money, money, money. And so many people said that we weren't going to work out, but we are! Just recently I realized that autism isn't what makes my fiancé, it's his personality, his compassion, his uniqueness, and his bravery. I love him with every beat of my heart. I hate how people judge him because of his past or how he acts. He's an amazing guy when you really get to know him. He's so sweet and caring, and with everyday that I wake up to him I think to myself how are we going to make it through today?

     As of today him and I have been struggling with jobs and trying to maintain our apartment with no car. He's 23 and I'm 22 and we don't have the luxury of living at home with mommy and daddy. We are adults and it's time to live the way we want. But there's a big difference between struggling and doing whatever we want. Just recently him and I have been giving each other a lot of confidence towards each other so we can go to college and move to California. I want to become an actress and he wants to become a big video gamer like Pewdiepie or someone like him. So as of right now him and I are trying to follow our dreams. We've always heard chase your dreams. So we are trying to achieve our dreams together not only as a couple, but also as best friends.

    Every year his parents hold an Autism Awareness Dance. I think it's wonderful that they do this. Because his mom really reads up on her work and she tried her best when he was a kid. They approached some things properly and some things not very well. But it's so hard taking care of a kid with autism when you're alone. So I respect that they tried their best. Sometimes my fiancé and I talk about our past because we tell each other everything. When I hear about the struggles he had in school being picked on for being different it makes me feel bad, because I was picked on in high school on how much weight I gained, but nobody knew the moral of my story, nobody read between the lines, and everyone judged the book by its cover. It was hard so when he tells me how hard he had it, and he's a smart kid, it upsets me cause not only do I understand how hard he had it. I also understand how his parents felt because they were alone, because nobody wanted to help when it was needed the most. I mean they had friends that never gave up on them so now here we are many years later and they've gotten better with time and so has he. But because of the past sometimes it's scary to move on. People with a bad past know it's hard to move on from dark times because their afraid it's all going to come back.

   So today I'm not picking just one artist I'm picking multiple because multiple people have autism and with autism you don't just realize one you realize multiple of them. So the first person is We'll get by (The Autism Song) by Johnny Orr Band. This song speaks to me because not only does this song remind me of autistic kids, the video reminds me of my fiancé. His lyrics really hits my heart. He really shows what kids feel and that they don't want to be the weirdos they just want to be normal like the rest of us.

   Another wonderful song is I'm in here- The Anthem for Autism. This song is another good one because my fiancé looks at the world different everyday, sometimes he's scared to go out because of other people. But as long as I'm by his side he says to me everyday that he feels like everything's okay because I understand him and I'm his world. I'm the only one who understands who he is, and this is one of the reasons why I love him, his uniqueness. 

   Now I know I said I would stick with artists that are new, but every Sunday him and I sit in our living room and sing Fight Song by Rachel Platten and I sing Stand by you to him also by Rachel Platten, because he knows I'm not going anywhere no matter how many people tell me whatever they want to believe/hear. These songs speak to both of us because of our past. And him and I are fighting everyday to be together and making it through this struggle of this hard world. And as we all know it our Next Generation is going to be a hard world to live in, and eventually might turn into The Hunger Games. But every time we sing this song we know that no matter how bad this world is/will become we will always have each other. A fiancé, a best friend, an encourager, a future, a past, and a soul mate.

  Also please check out Gold by Britt Nicole! This is an amazing song for Autism Awareness. My fiancé loves it and listens to it almost everyday!

   So that's all the songs I have noticed for today. And I hope you decide to go and check them out. Please as always let me know what you think about these songs. P.S. Someone requested I write about my fiancé so I thought that autism awareness month would be perfect to do it for. Alright guys thanks for taking the time to read if you made it this far. Until next time, Here's to hoping.

-DJ AMBLISSITY 

bottom of page